Cover Story

4

November 28, 2014 by bck1402

One of the services that Partridge supplied was a cover design. It’s not like they didn’t try, but since I took the most affordable package I could afford (read ‘cheap’), try they did. According to them, they (and I) had access to a particular database of royalty-free images. I gave them an idea of what I thought would be nice to have on the cover, what kind of image might reflect some element within the story.

Syndi-Jean is an Amer-Asian young girl who wears spectacles, has telekinetic and telepathic abilities, so it would be nice to show that off. Maybe have her manipulate some water around her. It took a while to find a stock image of the girl, nowhere close to what I imagined Syndi-Jean to be.

Other catch, I could only afford to use two of the royalty-free images unless I was willing to drop in additional cash. That meant the girl was one, the water was the second, and they chipped in with the tittle design and cover layout… and this is what they sent~

cvrsample

I added the “Sample Cover” text.

Admittedly, they were accommodating and very helpful, but it wasn’t what I had in mind. I really appreciated the effort and I asked if they would let me design the cover, and it was fine as long as it was a single image.

I voiced my concern over the title design because I didn’t want the emphasis on “Journal” preferring to have the focus on Syndi-Jean instead. I already had a title design from the earlier Australian edition. See here for the earlier samples. Making that title took a long time using the GIMP software and I had also gone through numerous designs before settling on that. I wasn’t going to redesign it again. I just needed to have my version of Jeannie on the cover doing her thing. Hence…

cvr001-fnl

Well, I’ve been plastering my cover all over my blog with those banner ads. Just figured it would be interesting to compare the final cover (mine) to the proposed sample cover (theirs) and then ask…

“Which would you have preferred?”

Not that it’s going to change anything. 🙂
But would the other cover have attracted more attention?


 

banner

Amazon (US) / Barnes and Noble / Lybrary / Blackwell’s (UK) / Powell’s Books (Oregon US) / Amazon (Ca) / Amazon (UK) / Amazon (Jp) / aLibris Book Depository / Best Deals (ISBNS.net)

4 thoughts on “Cover Story

  1. I prefer your cover as well. Yours actually shows the manipulation of the water, and your font is much better.

    • bck1402 says:

      Thank you.
      Can’t blame them for the stock image tho… it was just a very limited range of choices.
      Then again, it’s nice that the whole book ends up as my work inside and out… and they just helped with interior layout and publishing… and distributing.

  2. Anna Surface says:

    I definitely prefer your cover and your depiction of Syndi-Jean. I like the font… very nice. The drawing stands out and promotes a sense of adventure. Thank you for sharing what the process was for your book cover…”Cover Story.” 🙂

    • bck1402 says:

      Thanks for the comment, Anna. I worked with stock images in my previous job and I never really liked using them. Nothing wrong with them when you need to get a job done fast for some presentation, but it always seemed a little too easy.
      You have to fit to it more than having it fit you.

Leave a Reply

November 2014
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Instagram

Aug 31.'17 #dusk at approx 730pm #nofilter
Taken with #SamsungJ7 #sky white balance,  with reduced exposure.
#clouds #skyscapes #sunset🌅 A #black #cat loafing about the neighbourhood. Loves cars. 
When it rains, it climbs onto my mom's car under the porch. 
Taken with #SamsungJ7 #moonfilter #dawn at approx 725am
#sunrise taken with #SamsungJ7 #nofilter but #sunset taken with #fotorhdr app on #ipad approx 745pm on July 9 '17.
#skyscape #dusk #cloudscape #clouds #hillside

Categories

Archives

